Welcome… to the story of my life

The Magic of the Mountains of Georgia

If you need to do a little self-care, then you should spend some time in the mountains of Georgia.  It will do wonders for your mind and your body.  I really mean it.  I often dream about Amicalola Falls State Park and I think, gee I wish I were there now.  The first time I ever went, I never wanted to leave.  Here are a couple of places that you must explore.

1) Amicalola Falls State Park. 

amicalolaIt’s only about 1 hour and a half away by car.  It’s home of the tallest cascading waterfall east of the Mississippi and it’s the end of the famous Appalachian Trail.  There are tons of trails, marked by level of difficulty.  AND you gotta love outdoor events with names like “Encounters of the Bird Kind” and “For Goodness Snakes!”

But really, this place is beautiful, and will take your mind off a lot of things.  And there are lodges and cabins.  And grills if you like that sort of thing.  Amicalola is simply magnificent.

2) Unicoi State Park

This park is also not that from Atlanta.  Its beauty is enough to make you warm and welcome.  There is a lake and mountain trails to hike on.  If you’re into crafts, Unicoi has a Visiting Artist Series where a different artist comes every weekend throughout the summer to share their craft and sell samples of their art.  There’s also a Dancing Through the Decades, which is a four week-series class where you can learn the steps to some of the best social dances ever.

3) Click here to find out more about the wonderful parks of Georgia.

I’ve shared with you my favorite getaway places.  I hope you’ll take a chance to visit them and experience the magic of them like I do.  What’s your favorite local getaway?

 

3 responses

  1. Thank you for reminding me of the beautiful sights here in Georgia.

    February 6, 2013 at 5:22 am

    • Yes, I am trying to get away to the mountains this weekend. It is always in the back of my mind.

      February 6, 2013 at 5:49 pm

  2. Dr P

    Alice,

    Check you links. You missed the colon and the links didn’t work. I love Amicalola Falls. It is indeed beautiful.

    February 7, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

